Strong competition for seats on Fonterra board

Eleven candidates are seeking election to the Fonterra board as shareholder directors: They are Blue Read, Donna Smit, Eric Ray, Grant Cochrane, Grant Rowan, Jacqueline Rowarth, Jan Marten Kingma, Lachie Cameron, Michael Spaans and the two incumbent directors John Wilson and Nicola Shadbolt.

Candidates for the Fonterra Directors’ election were announced following the completion of the Candidate Assessment Panel (CAP) process. As in previous years, the CAP process was available to independently assess the capabilities, experience and qualifications of Director candidates to assist shareholders in making an informed vote.  While the CAP process is open to all Ddrector candidates, it is not compulsory.

The panel, consisting of three independent appointments – Chairman, Bill Falconer, John Spencer and Elizabeth Hickey, and one representative each of the Board, Henry van der Heyden, and the Shareholders’ Council, Ian Brown, interviewed prospective candidates during October.  The results and candidate profiles will be sent to Fonterra shareholders with the voting papers on Monday, 26 November and will also be displayed on Fencepost via

Bill Falconer has served on company boards for over 25 years. He is currently the Chairman of Tower Ltd, the New Zealand Meat Industry Association and the Primary Growth Partnership, Energy Intellect Ltd and Karapiro 2010 Ltd and is a director of Westfield Trust (NZ) Ltd and the New Zealand Symphony Orchestra.John Spencer is Chairman of KiwiRail Ltd and WEL Networks Ltd, he is also a Director of Tower Ltd, Dairy NZ Ltd, Raukawa iwi Development Ltd and the Disputes Resolution Service and an advisor to Mitre 10 Ltd.  Elizabeth Hickey is a chartered accountant with more than 30 years’ experience, a Director of the Institute of Chartered Accountants and Southern Cross Insurance and a former Member of the Securities Commission.

Directors’ Election Candidate Roadshow

Fonterra shareholders have the opportunity to meet director candidates and ask questions at the Directors’ Election Candidate Roadshow meetings which are scheduled to run from Monday, 3 – Friday, 7 December 2012.  The voting period runs from Monday, 26 November to 10.30am on Saturday, 15 December 2012 with the results being announced at the Annual Meeting on Monday, 17 December 2012. All successful candidates take office at the close of the Annual Meeting.

Check Also

Geoffrey Miller: What to expect from Volodymyr Zelensky’s address to the New Zealand Parliament

As New Zealand’s foreign policy year draws to a close, it seems fitting that Volodymyr …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *