Friday , February 22 2019
Informed Influential Indispensable |

2017 INFINZ “Oscar” Award winners

Last night the 2017 INFINZ Awards were held at the Langham Hotel in Auckland. Over 800 guests filled the room to recognise innovation and excellence in New Zealand’s financial and capital markets industry.

The evening was its usual success. Fran O’Sullivan warmed up the room, challenging the industry to use the current availability of capital to be bold and apply financial leverage – particularly to fully fund the growing infrastructure gap that has been sparked by rocketing net migration.

Rod Duke, managing director of Briscoe Group, was the recipient of the supreme Caldwell Partners Leadership Award for his contribution to the retail chain.

The judges acknowledged that Briscoe Group has performed consistently well, and as the largest capitalised retailer on the NZX has done well in what has become a hugely competitive and challenging sector to operate in.

Investment banker Rob Cameron was acknowledged as a distinguished fellow for his outstanding career in the financial services industry and the wider community.

His leadership of the Capital Markets Development Task Force and the resultant legislation and institutional framework, including the establishment of the Financial Markets Authority and Financial Markets Conduct Act have provided strong foundations and pillars of excellence for the industry as a whole.

The full list of award winners is below:

  • Caldwell Partners – Leadership Award – Rod Duke, Briscoe Group
  • University of Auckland Business School – Emerging Leader – Richard Milsom, Elevation Capital Management
  • Craigs Investment Partners – Excellence in Treasury – Fletcher Building
  • AUT Business School – Research Analyst of the Year – Arie Dekker, First NZ Capital
  • EY – Debt Deal of the Year – Christchurch Adventure Park Funding
  • Chapman Tripp – M&A Transaction of the Year – Z Energy’s acquisition of Chevron NZ
  • Milford Asset Management – Sharebroking Firm of the Year – First NZ Capital
  • PwC – NZ Equity Market Transaction of the Year – Investore Property $185 million Initial Public Offering
  • Chapman Tripp – Fund Manager of the Year – Equities – Nikko Asset Management
  • Trustees Executors – NZ Debt Market Issue of the Year – Auckland International Airport $225 million seven-year fixed rate bonds
  • Massey Business School – Fund Manager of the Year – Bonds – AMP Capital Investors
  • The Business – Institutional Banking Innovation Award – ANZ – Liquidity Management Solution
  • NZX – Emerging Leaders Best Corporate Communicator – Pushpay Holdings
  • First NZ Capital – Market Leaders Best Corporate Communicator – Z Energy
  • Distinguished Fellow – Rob Cameron
  • Fellows – Mary-Jane Daly, Scott St John, Maree Webster

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *